RCS Exist

  Look, RCS is Google’s greatest shot at making a global messenger app; not only does it have some backing from the business, but it also contains a ton of functionalities that users all around the globe will be eager to check out in the coming years. It doesn’t matter whether we’re chatting about the convenience of sending and receiving texts via wifi or the elimination of the need to send and receive MMS texts, which are so condensed that they’re uncomfortable to use. Although RCS has been around for a long, I feel that users would have a much more satisfying communication experience spanning not just Google software and hardware but across the whole sector, if the tech giant could figure out how to overlay their own capabilities with the aid of RCS.

It’s Confusing

I’m a huge Google fan, and I saw the announcement of Google Allo as well as Google Duo, but if you’d asked me why you ought to use these instead of, say, Hangouts or Google Messages, I wouldn’t have a good answer. Apple and Meta (formerly Facebook) are two of the major technology companies that have dabbled in the messaging space. Apple’s iMessage platform, with its closed ecosystem, is the easiest solution. It’s difficult to argue that Apple is communicating poorly, even if I’m not a huge fan of their goods.  Facebook has a little more involved method, but at least they possess a concept for the horizon where customers of its many services (Facebook, Instagram, and Whatsapp) may communicate with one another in a cohesive fashion. Even if the technique is “maybe still a bit icky” due to the fact that there will be various programs loaded on multiple devices, I prefer it over Google’s. I’m a huge Google fan, but if someone claimed they were confused about which Google messenger app to choose, I wouldn’t try to convince them otherwise. Because, to be quite frank, I have no idea either.

Conclusion

I really hope Google recognizes that their existing messaging infrastructure is dysfunctional and unclear, however, I worry that by the moment they understand, we’ll have all switched to Meta’s Messenger anyhow.

Why Google Should Merge its Messaging Services - 5Why Google Should Merge its Messaging Services - 55